First thing I thought when I saw this beer was gluten free and wheat! Are they nuts! But not, they aren’t. It‘s not made from wheat but from buckwheat (which as you may not it’s not actually a grain but a fruit seed). I used buckwheat on backing a number of times and whilst I don’t dislike it (and buckwheat pancakes are fantastic) it has a very strong flavour which I’m surprise to find out is not present on this beer.
In fact I had to do a double take to ensure this was not a regular wheat beer. It tasted very much like an Erdinger or any other good quality wheat beer. It was very refreshing and went very well with the nuts curry I had for dinner. As it’s common from me my only problem was the 4.8% which is at the top end of what I like but nothing wrong with a couple of bottles!